Bookmark and Share


Randy Taylor Scores Street Stock Win; John Woodward Returns to E-mod Victory Lane



by Matt Steffenhagen
August 27, 2010 – Delevan, NY – It was a night for the fans at South Arcade Speedway as all race cars would line the frontstretch for “autograph night.” The racing surface was once again quite smooth, garnering compliments from drivers who made it to victory lane this night. John Woodward Jr., Jeff Taylor, and Matt Cobb took home wins in the e-mods, street stocks, and FASTRAK late models while Fred Ely and Davey Lowe would be victorious in the pure stocks and mini stocks.
                Following the on-track autograph session, the first feature up was for the Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks. Dale Hamer (7D) and Ed Winans (30) would bring the field to the green flag. Dale Hamer would lead from the start, while behind him Zach Hamer (7) would get slowed up by a chain-reaction incident to put him tail on the field after lap one. Hamer would make his way back through by lap 7 to battle Blane Krott (72) when the pair would come together causing Krott to spin. With thirteen laps remaining Krott and Hamer would have to make another charge from the back. Meanwhile, out front Fred Ely (00) was able to get past Dale Hamer for the lead. Once gaining the lead, Ely would set sail and put some distance between he and second place. Zach Hamer would drive back to fourth place before a flat right rear tire would end his night. Inheriting fourth was Blane Krott who would continue on to finish there while challenging Curt Pastorius (42) for third. Fred Ely would cruise to the victory, his third of the season.
                In the Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks, Davey Lowe (21) would start alongside Dan Lockwood (08) to make up the front row. Lowe would go to the lead and never look back. Sam Fuller (38) would battle with Lockwood for much of the feature, while Joe Perrin (79) would join in as well to make it a three-way battle for second place. Perrin and Fuller would race door-to-door before Perrin would get very sideways in turn four to allow Fuller to get away. Fuller’s car would break with just one lap remaining however. Out front, Davey Lowe had put nearly half a track distance between himself and second place Dan Lockwood. Lowe cruised to the victory, his first of the season.
                John Woodward (18) and TJ Downs (03) would lead the Insinger Performance E-mods to the green flag. Woodward would get the jump and go to the lead right away. Nathan Hill (38) would challenge Downs for the runner-up spot before the pair were passed by Josh Pangrazio (7) who was making his SAS E-mod debut this night. Pangrazio would spin at lap 15, ending his night. Hill would eventually get past Downs for second, while Ed Carley, driving Darren Tarabori’s #6, would make a late-race charge to battle Downs for third. John Woodward went on to win, his third of the season.
                In the Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models, it was Matt Cobb (75) and Garrett Stephen (79) pacing the field for the start. Cobb was making his first SAS FASTRAK Late Model start this night. Starting third, and stealing the show was Ed Carley wheeling Ron Baker’s #74. Carley would go straight to the lead. Steve Dixon would move from sixth to second in just one lap, however his always fast #50 would break on lap two.  Following a restart, it was Carley going back to the lead whille Adam Sixt would jump to third. Sixt would fall back to fifth just a lap later as Justin Tatlow (81) and Bob Kish (5) would get by. For the remainder of the race it was Carley out front, distancing himself from second-running Matt Cobb by nearly half the track. Carley would later miss post-race tech. inspection and the win was handed over to Matt Cobb in his first South Arcade Speedway FASTRAK start.
                To close the night, the Lauterborn Electric Street Stocks would run their twenty lap main event. Randy Taylor (10T) and John Ellwood (27) would start on the front row of the race, with Taylor going to the early lead. Ellwood would get past Taylor for the lead at lap five, before the race was slowed at lap six for a stopped car. Following the restart it was Taylor getting back to the lead, followed by Ellwood and Ron Mogavero (75x). Mogavero would try to get past Ellwood for the remainder of the event while Chris Austin (22A) would keep his Al Lemon Service ride glued to Mogavero’s back bumper. Josh Wilcox (1w) would get into the mix as well, getting up next to Austin and Mogavero before falling back to finish fifth. Once gaining the lead at lap six, Randy Taylor was able to hold on for the win, his first at South Arcade.
                Just two race nights remain on the South Arcade Speedway schedule, with the season finale coming on September 10. Each week throughout the season, South Arcade Speedway provides affordable family entertainment with admission just $10 and a great selection of reasonably-priced food at “Frank’s Place” behind the grandstand. Racing begins at 7:15pm each Friday night.   For more information, catch up with South Arcade Speedway on Facebook, at the website, or by phone at (585)293-2780 on weekdays and (716)492-4097 on race day.
South Arcade Speedway – August 27, 2010 – Results
Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks (20 laps):
1. FRED ELY #00, 2. Dale Hamer #7D, 3. Curt Pastorius #42, 4. Blane Krott #72, 5. Tonia Ellwood #27, 6. Mike Ely #1, 7. Zach Hamer #7, 8. Bud Barone #66, 9. Ed Winans #30.
Heat Winners: Fred Ely, Dale Hamer.
Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks (15 laps):
1. DAVEY LOWE #21, 2. Dan Lockwood #08, 3. Joe Perrin #79, 4. Dave Burdick #47, 5. Chris Paar #9x, 6. Richard Kline #23, 7. Bill Bailey #82, 8. Riley Ellison #24, 9. Sam Fuller #38, 10. Jason Babcock #4, 11. Randy Lanager #18.
Heat Winners: Joe Perrin, Dave Burdick.
Insinger Performance E-mods (20 laps):
1. JOHN WOODWARD #18, 2. Nathan Hill #38, 3. TJ Downs #03, 4. Ed Carley #6, 5. Carl Ballinger #53, 6. George Ritter #72, 7. Brian Gillespie #15T, 8. Josh Pangrazio #7, 9. Mike Eschrich #9E.
Heat Winners: Nathan Hill, John Woodward.
Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (20 laps):
1. MATT COBB #75, 2. Justin Tatlow #81, 3. Bob Kish #5, 4. Adam Sixt #6T, 5. Tom Kemp #28, 6. Tim Schram #1s, 7. Garrett Stephen #79, 8. Garrett Mott #43x, 9. Jason Bridge #15, 10. Ike Fanton #17, 11. Steve Dixon #50. DQ: Ed Carley #74.
Heat Winners: Bob Kish, Steve Dixon.
Lauterborn Electric Street Stocks (20 laps):
1. RANDY TAYLOR #10T, 2. John Ellwood #27, 3. Ron Mogavero #75x, 4. Chris Austin #22A, 5. Josh Wilcox #1w, 6. David Downs #02, 7. Dan Giboo #8, 8. Justin Howard #10, 9. Tim Bruce #75, 10. Kevin Dzuroff #07x, 11. Nate Arnold #41, 12. Matt Pfalzer #20. DNS: Gasper DeFelice #44.
Heat Winners: Ron Mogavero, Dan Giboo.

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.