Bookmark and Share


Holmes, Johnson Score First Wins, Tatlow, Giboo, Krott, and Fuller Win Again at SAS



by Tom Ames
July 30,2010 – Delevan, NY
Mike Lauterborn’s South Arcade Speedway had a very successful night with a great crowd on hand along with Mother Nature co-operating as well. The skies were sunny and no sign of rain brought out some more cars this week, with a total car count of 62 in the pits, making it the most this season. Thanks go out to Lewy’s Tire out of Cuba, NY, who donated one tire each to the winners of the mini, pure, and also street stock division. He is also the owner of Ike Fanton’s no. 41 Fastrak Late Model. Also thanks go out to other anonymous person who donated $100 to the winner in the pure stock class. Thank you to all who helped support South Arcade Speedway.
There were 5 Mini Sprints on hand from Limerock Speedway that came down to do an exhibition race for the fans, which proved that the nice bullring is a great showplace for these 600cc-powered machines. In the heat, the no.46 of Pat Kelly took the win with his pole position, and in the feature Frank Jarkiewitz’s car no.48j started fourth and worked his way up to victory lane. Following him to the checkers Brandon Geotz, and Dan Muench in the podium positions.  With the positive feedback from the drivers, things are in the works to get some more drivers and there will be an announcement in the near future with getting a bigger show in the month of August.
In the Lauterborn Electric Pure Stock division Blane Krott took advantage of the draw-redraw format and drew the pole and led the whole race from green to checkers. Following Krott in second was Ed Winans Curt Pastorius in third. Heat wins went to Krott, and Winans.
In the Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks, Sam Fuller proved to be dominating once again and worked his way up from his 5th starting spot to take the lead on lap 2 and never look back. Randy Lananger would finish second with Mike Sweeney in third. However, Lananger would not make it to tech thus putting him back at tail. Moving Sweeney up to second and giving third to newcomer Ron Shisler. Heat wins went to Fuller, and Sweeney.
Daniel Giboo took his second win in a row in the Lauterborn Electric Street Stock division with an impressive run starting in 12th and not qualifying in a redraw position. Tim Bruce had one of his best runs of the year securing second place over high points man Ron Mogavero in third. The passing in this class was absolutely incredible, and they put on one of the best shows of the night. Previous weeks this class has been filled with cautions and more cautions, so the drivers proved that they can have a good night and the crowd absolutely loved it. Heat wins went to Doug Jones, and Ron Mogavero.
In a close last lap pass in the 360 late Models (Super Stocks) First time visitor Bill Holmes, would edge out Jon Rivers to take the checkers, with Carl Shetler and Conlee Giboo behind them in third and fourth respectively. Heat win went to Jon Rivers.
The Insinger Performance E-Mod division, also seen a first time visitor come in and beat the regulars. Jeff Johnson takes the win leading all the laps with the race going green to checker. George Ritter and Carl Ballinger took the podium positions.  Heat win went to Ballinger.
With a big announcement just being made that the payout for the Jerge’s Fastrak Late Model class went back up to $500 to win and $100 to take green, brought back some more cars. Thanks go out to the anonymous person that has helped out the purse for this class. Justin Tatlow current point leader took advantage of his draw position and went on to win from the pole. Bob Kish along with Adam Sixt followed in tow to round out the top three. Heat wins went to Tom Kemp and Tim Schram.
There are still sponsorship opportunities available for some classes and billboard space, call the office if your business wants to get recognized at South Arcade Speedway.
South Arcade Speedway is back in action next Friday night with 5 Star racing with an Enduro added that pays $300 to win. Which is also a qualifier for Black Rock Speedways “Big One” that pays the winner $10,000. Entries are flying in for this and if you not registered, call the office and get signed up.  South Arcade Speedway provides affordable family entertainment with admission just $10 and a great selection of reasonably priced food at “Frank’s Place” behind the grandstand. Racing begins at 7:30pm.   For more information, catch up with South Arcade Speedway on Facebook, at the website, or by phone at (585)293-2780 on weekdays and (716)492-4097 on race day.
South Arcade Speedway 7/30/2010 – Official Results
Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (20 laps):
1. JUSTIN TATLOW #81, 2. Bob Kish#5, 3. Adam Sixt #6t, 4. Tim Schram #1s, 5. Tom Kemp #28, 6. Jason Bridge #15, 7. Wade Mohawk #64, 8. Ike Fanton #41, 9. Less Lyon #45, 10. Ron Baker #74

Insinger Performance E-mods (15 laps):
1. JEFF JOHNSON #63, 2. George Ritter #72, 3. Carl Ballinger #53, 4. Brian Gillespie #15t

Super Stocks (15 laps):
1. BILL HOLMES #8, 2. Jon Rivers #85, 3. Carl Shetler #58, 4. Conlee Giboo#51

Lauterborn Electric Street Stocks (20 laps):
1. DAN GIBOO #8, 2. Tim Bruce #75, 3. Ron Mogavero #75x, 4. Josh Wilcox #1w, 5. Doug Jones #87, 6. Paul Davies #17d, 7. John Ellwood #27, 8. Justin Myers #10, 9. David Downs #02, 10. Andy Eastman #69, 11. Pat Powers #53, 12. Randy Taylor #10t, 13. Nate Arnold #41, 14. Kyle Rupp #29. DNS- Justin Chaddock #11, Matt Pfalzer #20

Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks (10 laps):
1. SAM FULLER #38, 2. Mike Sweeney #73, 3. Ron Shisler #99, 4. Chris Paar #9x, 5. Dave Burdick #47, 6. Dan Lockwood # 08, 7. Joe Perrin #79, 8. Riley Ellison #24, 9. Bill Bailey #82, 10. Sarah Johnson #94j, 11. Chris Doran #28, 12. Shawn Kemp #23s, 13. Randy Lananger #18

Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks (15 laps):
1. BLANE KROTT #72, 2. Ed Winans #30, 3. Curt Pastorius #42,  4. Dale Hamer #7d, 5. Zach Hamer #7, 6. Bud Barone #66, 7. Tonia Ellwood #27, 8. Mike Elly #1, 9. Rod Winans #74, DNS-Fred Ely #00

Mini Sprints
1. Frank Jarkiewitz #48, 2. Brandon Geotz #5, 3. Dan Muench #4, 4. Pat Kelly #46, 5. Diane Hausfelder #44h

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.