Bookmark and Share


South Aracde Speedway Beats the Weather; Sixt, Michael, Rivers, Giboo, Fuller & Hamer Score Wins


by Matt Steffenhagen
July 23, 2010 – Delevan, NY- On a night where most tracks pulled the
plug on their racing, South Arcade Speedway was able to sneak in a
racing program with rain and clouds giving way to sunny skies.  Once
again, the track surface was in top-shape;  smooth top-to-bottom.  Adam
Sixt, Rich Michael, and Jon Rivers took home wins in the FASTRAK Late
Models, E-mods, and Super Stocks while Dan Giboo, Sam Fuller, and Zach
Hamer were victorious in the Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Pure
    In the Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Model division, Adam Sixt
(6T) and Tom Kemp (28) would lead the field to the green flag.  Sixt
would jump to the lead, followed by multiple feature winner this season
Justin Tatlow (81).  Tatlow would make use of the inside of the
speedway for the distance of the event in his attempts to get past
Sixt.  The pair would never split up throughout the race, with Tatlow
keeping Sixt within striking distance the entire time.  Tatlow made one
last move to the high side out of turn four on the final lap to no
avail.  Adam Sixt would win his second FASTRAK Late Model feature in a
row.  Tom Kemp would finish third while Ron Baker would race past Ike
Fanton to grab and keep fourth place.
    In their second appearance as a weekly division, the Super Stocks
would be paced by Carl Shetler (58) and Tom Baker (93B).  Carl Shetler
would jump to the early lead while last week’s feature winner Jon
Rivers would get past Baker to ride second.  Shetler was able to hold
Rivers at bay for the opening laps as Shetler was able to keep a clean
and fast line around the middle of the speedway.  In an instant
however, his lead would vanish as the 58 picked up a slight push in
between turns one and two allowing the 85 of Rivers to slip past.
Rivers would go on to stretch out his lead and record his second South
Arcade Speedway Super Stock victory.  Carl Shetler held on for second
and Tom Baker was third.
    In the Insinger Performance E-mods, it was the return of a few
familiar faces in Richard Michael (17x), TJ Downs (03), and Darren
Tarabori (6).  Michael would break an axle on the first lap of the heat
race and start tail in the main event.  Tarabori had a good showing in
the heat but was unable to start the feature.  Weekly South Arcade
racers Carl Ballinger (53) and George Ritter Jr. (72) would bring the
field to the green.  TJ Downs would work past the 22 of Scott DeRock to
grab third on the first lap, then go on to pass both Ballinger and
Ritter to grab the lead on lap two.  Rich Michael would get by to third
at the same time.  The following lap, Michael would pass Ballinger and
Downs to grab away the lead.  Ballinger would follow him by to run
second.  Downs would eventually get back past to finish second.   Rich
went on to a commanding victory.
    In what was the final race of the night, the Lauterborn Electric
Street Stocks put on by far the best race of the night.  Dan Giboo ( 8
) and Tim Bruce (75) would lead the field to the green with last
week’s feature winner Ron Mogavero (75x) starting 6th.  Tim Bruce
would lead, but was passed by Giboo early in the going.  A spin by
Shane Wolfer (26) which did not bring out a caution would allow Giboo
to build a considerable gap over the rest of the field.  Mogavero would
work his way into second to begin reeling in Giboo, however the battle
for third was a good one to watch with John Ellwood trying every move
he had to get past Tim Bruce.  It took until the closing laps, but
Mogavero would eventually catch the new Camaro styled car of Giboo with
about five laps remaining.  The pair battled side-by-side for the
remaining distance.  Giboo appeared to get very sideways entering turn
one on the final circuit and the pair would go door-to-door down the
backstretch, all the way around turns three and four and to the
checkers.  When they hit the line, it was Dan Giboo winning by a narrow
margin over Ron Mogavero.  The race was among the most exciting this
season, even though it was between two competitors who had some mishaps
with each other this year.  “We have some history, but he raced me
clean,” said Giboo in victory lane whilst smiling from ear to ear. The win was Giboo’s first of the season as well.
    The Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks main would be a race among three
cars.  Fred Ely (00), Curt Pastorius (42), and Zach Hamer (7) would
break away to form a race of their own early on in the race.  Ely would
lead with Pastorius second and Hamer third.  By lap eight, Hamer was
beginning to put the pressure on Pastorius for second.  Following a lap
nine restart, Hamer would put his number 7 to the high side and race on
by Pastorius before trying to run down Ely.  Ely however would park his
00 that same lap, handing the lead to Hamer.  Pastorius would suffer
mechanical woes late in the going, but was able to limp for the final
few laps to the finish and still bring home second place.  Zach Hamer
would go on to win, his third of the season.
    The Lauterborn Electric Mini Stock main was a race of attrition before
it got started this night.  Dave Burdick (47) would lose an engine in
the heat race, his second in as many nights.  Sarah Johnson (94j) also
would not make the call for the feature.  Sam Fuller (38) would once
again be the class of the field.  However, in his first start this
season Randy Lanager (18) was quick as well.  Lanager would keep it
smooth and keep close to Fuller’s back bumper for most of the race.
Fuller was too fast out front for anyone else to challenge him however,
and he would cruise to his fourth win of the season.
South Arcade Speedway is back in action next Friday night with another
six division race card.  South Arcade Speedway provides affordable
family entertainment with admission just $10 and a great selection of
reasonably-priced food at “Frank’s Place” behind the grandstand.
Racing begins at 7:30pm.   For more information, catch up with South
Arcade Speedway on Facebook, at the website, or by phone at (585)293-2780 on weekdays
and (716)492-4097 on race day.

South Arcade Speedway – July 23, 2010 – Results
Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (15 laps):
1. ADAM SIXT #6T, 2. Justin Tatlow #81, 3. Tom Kemp #28, 4. Ron Baker
#74, 5. Ike Fanton #41.

Insinger Performance E-mods (15 laps):
1. RICH MICHAEL #17x, 2. TJ Downs #03, 3. Carl Ballinger #53, 4. George
Ritter Jr. #72, 5. Scott DeRock #22.  DNS: Darren Tarabori #6.
Super Stocks (15 laps):
1. Jon Rivers #85, 2. Carl Shetler #58, 3. Tom Baker #93b.
Lauterborn Electric Street Stocks (15 laps):
1. DAN GIBOO #8, 2. Ron Mogavero #75x, 3. Tim Bruce #75, 4. John
Ellwood #27, 5. Joe Chamberlain #46, 6. Pat Power #53, 7. Shane Wolfer
#26, 8. Nate Arnold #41, 9. Matt Pfalzer #20.
Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks (10 laps):
1. SAM FULLER #38, 2. Randy Lanager #18, 3. Riley Ellison #24.  DNS:
Sarah Johnson #94J, Dave Burdick #47.
Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks (15 laps):
1. ZACH HAMER #7, 2. Curt Pastorius #42, 3. Dan Scharf #16, 4. Tonia
Ellwood #27, 5. Dale Hamer #7D, 6. Fred Ely #00, 7. Blane Krott #72.

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.