Bookmark and Share


South Arcade Speedway Back on Track


by Matt Steffenhagen
Delevan, NY- After a three week hiatus, South Arcade Speedway was back
in action this past Friday night with another six division race card.
In addition to the racing, fans were treated with lower admission
prices ($10), lower concession prices, and loosened gate rules at the
speedway.  Youngsters were also given an extra good time at the
speedway with pickup truck rides around the track at intermission.  The
track was in great shape this night as well, with many drivers
commenting on how smooth the racing surface was.  The race night was
concluded with a four lap “King of the Hill” style race pitting Jerge’s
Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Model driver Adam Sixt against Super Stock
pilot Jon Rivers.  Rivers drove extremely hard, but was no match for
the driver of the Sixt Lumber  #6T this night.

    The Lauterborn Electric Street Stock division has been probably the
most competitive class this season, and this night was no different.
The street stocks kicked off the night with a hard-fought 3 car battle
for the win in a heat race.  The main event for the division was
setting up to be quite the barnburner, however it would all fall apart
on lap five when after grabbing the lead, Ron Mogavero (75x) was spun
in turn three setting off a chain reaction which collected Shane Wolfer
(26).  Mogavero would restart 10th, but just as he had done earlier in
the season, he would charge back to the front extremely quickly,
getting all the way back to fourth by lap seven by going three-wide
between cars.  By lap nine he had made it to third, now chasing leader
David Downs (02) and John Ellwood (27).  Mogavero would get past
Ellwood for second on lap eleven.  Following a restart, Mogavero would
throw his 75x to the high side and pass Downs for the lead before
cruising to his second victory of the season.  Shane Wolfer and Dan
Giboo ( 8 ) would get past the bent-up race car of Doug Jones (87) to
ride fourth and fifth, with the pair eventually finishing third and
fourth due to a late-race spin by Downs.
    The Super Stocks made their first appearance as a weekly division at
South Arcade Speedway.  Jon Rivers (85) would be the class of the field
this night, stretching out a large lead over second-place runner Carl
Shetler (58).  Jason Bridge (15), driving “double-duty” this night with
his crate late model also at the speedway would round out the top three.
    Tom Kemp (28) looked to have the field covered in the Jerge’s Auto
Parts FASTRAK Late Model division, going by the heat race anyway.  Once
the feature rolled off however, it was multi-time 2010 feature winner
Justin Tatlow (81) racing to the lead followed by Adam Sixt (6T).  By
lap four, Sixt had gotten side-by-side with Tatlow to challenge for the
top spot, however the race was slowed for a spin by Jason Bridge (15).
On the ensuing restart, Sixt would pick up right where he left off,
challenging Tatlow on the low side of the speedway.  While trying to
keep his #81 ahead of Sixt, Tatlow would spin and then pull off the
speedway.  Sixt went on to win unchallenged while Bob Kish (5) would
race his way into a second place finish at lap eleven.  The win was the
first FASTRAK Late Model feature victory for Sixt.
    The Insinger Performance E-mods were also on hand this night with Vic
Vena (01) taking home the victory.  Scott DeRock (22) and George Ritter
Jr. (72) would round out the top three.  Carl Ballinger (53) and
Canadian competitor Tim Gillespie (15T) would complete the top five.
    The Lauterborn Electric Pure Stock division saw a battle amongst three
cars for the win.  Curt Pastorius (42) would jump to the early lead,
followed by Zach Hamer (7) and Blane Krott (72).  Hamer would challenge
Pastorius for the lead on lap three, which put Krott right on his back
bumper.  Krott would follow Hamer until lap eight when “The Boy” Krott
would slip by to take second place.  Hamer would try the chrome horn
technique on Krott to no avail.  Krott then went to work on getting
past Pastorius.  He would duck his #72 to the inside of Pastorius’ #42
at lap twelve and the two would race side-by-side until Krott pulled
off the pass for the lead on lap thirteen.  Krott would go on to win
followed by Pastorius and Hamer.
    The Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks certainly put on a show for the
fans in the early stages of their feature event.  The four cylinder
machines went three and four wide down the backstretch of the speedway
before sorting out the race order to Shawn Kemp (23s), Dan Lockwood
(08), and Chris Paar (9x).  Lockwood would get a piece of the turn four
wall however on lap four, ending his race.  Following the restart, the
leaders would go three-wide, then four.  This however did not work well
on the exit of turn four with a melee breaking out resulting in Fuller
spinning, and Kemp climbing the frontstraight wall.  Both would
continue.  Dave Burdick (47) now inherited the lead followed By Chris
Paar and Joe Perrin (79).  Paar would get the lead with Fuller back in
the pack making a charge to the front.  Fuller would get back to fourth
by lap eight and second in the closing laps, however Chris Paar was
able to cruise to his second consecutive South Arcade mini stock win.
South Arcade Speedway is back in action next week with another six
division race card.  South Arcade Speedway provides affordable family
entertainment with admission just $10 and a great selection of
reasonably-priced food at “Frank’s Place” behind the grandstand.  For
more information, catch up with South Arcade Speedway on Facebook, at
the website, or by phone at (585)293-2780
on weekdays and (716)492-4097 on race day.

South Arcade Speedway – July 16, 2010 – Results:
Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (15 laps):
1. ADAM SIXT #6T, 2. Bob Kish #5, 3. Tom Kemp #28, 4. Jason Bridge #15,
5. Wade Mohawk #64, 6. Justin Tatlow #81, 7. Ron Baker #74.
Insinger Performance E-mods (15 laps):
1. VIC VENA #01, 2. Scott DeRock #22, 3. George Ritter Jr #72, 4. Carl
Ballinger #53, 5. Tim Gillespie #15T.
Lauterborn Electric Street Stocks (20 laps):
1. RON MOGAVERO #75x, 2. John Ellwood #27, 3. Shane Wolfer #26, 4. Dan
Giboo #8, 5. Justin Chaddock #11, 6. David Downs #02, 7. Pat Powers
#53, 8. Matt Pfalzer #20, 9. Justin Myers #10, 10. Tim Bruce #75, 11.
Sherman Gage #18, 12. Doug Jones #87.
Super Stocks (15 laps):
1. JON RIVERS #85, 2. Carl Shetler #58, 3. Jason Bridge #15, 4. Tom
Baker #93B.
Lauterborn Electric Mini Stocks (15 laps):
1. CHRIS PAAR #9x, 2. Sam Fuller #38, 3. Richard Kline #23, 4. Joe
Perrin #79, 5. Shawn Kemp #23s, 6. Dave Burdick #47, 7. Bill Bailey
#82, 8. Brent Harris #00, 9. Dan Lockwood #08, 10. Jeremy Barnard #86.
Lauterborn Electric Pure Stocks (15 laps):
1. BLANE KROTT #72, 2. Curt Pastorius #42, 3. Zach Hamer #7, 4. Dale
Hamer #7D
, 5. Tonia Ellwood #27, 6. Rod Winans #74.  DNS:  Ed Winans

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.