Bookmark and Share


6-4-10 Moler Raceway Park Results


Blast from the past for MRP!!

6-4-10 - Williamsburg, OH - The Vintage American Race Car group kicked off their season with a visit to MRP Friday night. The VARC club is made up of old-time race cars who travel the country and visit different race tracks and display their cars for the fans in the grandstand area and then suit up and hit the race track for some racing action. In their 15 lap feature event it was Sinking Springs, Ohio’s Johnny Lawhorn in his 60’s era sprint car taking the win  over the 1980 Silver Crown series car of Dan Swank. Finishing in third position was a 1939 Ford Sedan driven by Franklin, Ohio’s Scott Swain. Swank won the 8 lap heat race.

In the regular racing action it was a night of attrition as a number of vehicles had problems and were unable to make the start of the 25 lap Sunesis Construction Late Model feature event. Rick Combs and Barry Doss won heat races. In the feature Doss would jump to the lead but Bradford, Ohio’s Wayne Chinn was right on his bumper in one of CJ Rayburn’s CT525 engine cars. On lap seven Chinn would take the lead but the racing behind him was fast and furious as Marty O’Neil, John Whitney, and Skylar Marlar battled for top five positions. In the end it was Chinn in his Sugarcreek Packaging, Erwin Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge sponsored machine rolling to victory lane for the first time this year.  Doss would come home second followed by Winfield, Tenn.’s  Skylar Marlar, Marty O’Neil and Larry Pickelheimer Jr.

In the Mt Orab Ford Modifieds it was another full field of cars on hand to battle for supremecy. In heat race action it was Doug Adkins, Devin Gilpin and Dave Jamison winning heats with Davey Warnock claiming the B-main event. In the feature it was a wild start as Adkins jumped from third to first on the first turn only to have the caution come out and lined the cars back up for a complete restart. On the restart the front row of Jamison and Gilpin jumped out front with Adkins and hard charging Weasel Rhodes in tow. Gilpin led the first four laps before a three wide battle allowed Rhodes to lead lap five and Adkins lead laps six and seven. Gilpin would then take control and lead the remaining laps to claim his second feature in a row at MRP and 3rd of the season in his Gilstrap Motors, Dasco Race Supply, Impressive Racecar sponsored machine. Rhodes would come home second with Adkins in third. Fourth place was claimed by Murrell Nafe who charged back through the pack following a lap 12 spin and Dave McWilliams came home fifth after jumping into a different car following mechanical difficulties in hot laps.

The Holman Motors Chevettes took an interesting turn at the start of the night as point leader Miles Tarvin had difficulties in hot laps and would have to retire for the evening. In the heat races it was Kevin Riggs, Sean Jones and Scott Ramp claiming victories. In the feature event it was Sean Jones taking the lead for the first 7 laps before defending track champion Jeff Watson would take the lead in traffic and set sail on the field. With two laps to go the first caution of the event would come out setting up a restart but Jones was no match for Watson as he sailed to his fifth feature win of the season. Jones came home second with Blake Naylor making his return behind the wheel successful as he charged from 11th starting spot to third place in the feature event. Rusty Yarger and Ramp completed the top five positions.

In the US Race Gear street stock action it was newcomer Jamey Adams winning heat race number one while last weeks feature winner Jeremy Scott won heat race number two. In the feature it was a great battle as Adams and Scott raced side-by-side for the first four laps before Scott jumped out front. Following a lap seven caution for Dave Kirker, Adams would jump out front and lead to the finish. The Laurelville, Ohio native would claim his first victory of the season at MRP in his Thomas Gas, Helterbran Trucking, RA Smith Photo, Precision Grinding sponsored machine. Jeremie Bretz would claim the second spot followed by Jeremy Scott, Scott Hess and Chad Barr.   6-11 Street Stock Special $600 to Win, 6-18 L&M Performance Night, ALMS Series $2000 to Win!!


This article posted by Moler Raceway Park. Click here for more track information.