Bookmark and Share


Tatlow & Woodward Go Back-to-Back at SAS; First-time winners Ellwood, Krott, and McKinney



By Matt Steffenhagen

Delevan, NY- Under threatening skies, Bob McKerrow & Sons RV night at South Arcade Speedway saw a couple of repeat winners along with many first-time winners in their respective classes.  Justin Tatlow took the win for the second week in a row in the Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Model division, while John Woodward, Jr. won again in the Insinger Performance E-mods.  John Ellwood, Blane Krott, and Bill McKinney all took down their first wins in the Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, and Mini Stocks, respectively.
                In the ever-competitive Street Stock class, it was a race of attrition in many ways with crashes and mechanical woes plaguing many of the race leaders.  From the start of the race, Byron DeWitt (34) of Pavilion would lead following his commanding heat race win in his first start at South Arcade.  In hot pursuit was Dan Giboo (8).  By lap four, last week’s feature winner Doug Jones (87) was working on Giboo for second.  The two would beat and bang a bit with both eventually pulling off the track, although Jones would later return.  Back at the front, Ron Mogavero (75x) was in pursuit of race leader Byron DeWitt and would eventually pull off the pass on lap 12.  While trying to hang with Mogavero, DeWitt would slam the turn four wall on lap 14 causing a lengthy red flag and ending his night.  Under the caution, Mogavero would head pitside as well with 2009 Pure Stock champion John Ellwood (27) inheriting the lead.  Coming from last on the final restart and using every banzai move he could, Mogavero would work his way back to the front only to  lose in a photo finish to Ellwood.  The win was Ellwood’s first in the street stock division.
                The Insinger Performance E-mods would be led to the green by John Woodward Jr. (18) and Vic Vena (01).  Right from the start, the two would break away at the front of the field with Woodward eventually opening up a considerable gap between himself and Vena.  Chad Silleman went wheel-to-wheel with multi-time feature winner  Al Brewer for much of the race.  Silleman was never able to pull off the pass however, and Brewer would open up a large gap on him after their battle.  By lap 16, Woodward was beginning to catch some lap traffic.  This would allow Vena to close the gap and give Woodward a good challenge at the end of the race.  Woodward’s number 18 was just too strong on the high side of the speedway however, as he would hold off Vena in the closing laps for his second consecutive South Arcade Speedway E-mod victory.
                In the Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models, season opener winner Justin Tatlow (81) wasted no time in getting to the front of the field coming all the way from seventh place to third on the first lap alone.  At the conclusion of lap 1, 2009 track champion John Lacki (7) would lose the handle on his late model, stacking up the field and collecting Adam Sixt (6T).  Both drivers were able to return.  On the ensuing restart, Justin Tatlow would jump into the second position with former Super Stock champion Tim Schram (1s) leading the way.  On a lap 6 restart, Tatlow would use the high side of the speedway to rocket past Schram and into the lead.  With Tatlow and Schram out front, the battle for third was between Ike Fanton (41) and Bob Kish (5).  The two would race each other hard until lap 14 when Fanton would push high and allow Kish to take the position.  Shortly thereafter, recovering from the lap one incident, Adam Sixt had driven back to fifth place to begin to battle Fanton for fourth.  The two would race wheel-to-wheel for the remaining distance with Fanton edging out Sixt at the finish for fourth place.  Justin Tatlow would cruise to his second victory of the season.
                The Pure Stock main event for much of the race looked to be solidly in the control of Fred Ely (00).  Ely and Blane Krott (72) would break away from the rest of the field early in the going.  Ely was only able to retain the lead until the halfway point of the event however, as an almost spin-out on lap seven would drop him to fourth.  The bobble by Ely would allow Krott to take over the lead and eventually run away from the rest of the field with Curt Pastorius (42) and Zach Hamer (7) battling each other for second.  Krott would go on to score his first-ever South Arcade Speedway Pure Stock feature win.
                The Mini Stock field grew this week to eight, up from three on opening night.  Hopefully the trend will continue in the coming weeks.  Newcomer to the speedway Bill McKinney (10) of Bradford, PA would start alongside street stock competitor Sam Fuller (38) to lead the field to the green flag.  The two would battle back and forth, door handle to door handle until Fuller was forced to pull off with a flat right front tire.  McKinney would continue on at the front, never letting up.  Dan Lockwood (08) and Dave Burdick (47) would relive their battle from last week, except for third this time,  with Lockwood once again coming out on top.  Richard Kline (23s) would take second, but there was no catching Bill McKinney in his first ever South Arcade Speedway Mini Stock feature win.
                The Insinger Racing Alcohol DIRTcar Sprints once again put on a show of raw speed for the fans.  With a tackier surface and a bit more setup work since last week, the sprinters were able to turn lap times in the sub-14 second range with Brad Knab (38) laying down an impressive 13.5 second lap in the heat race.  In the main event, Knab would be challenged for the first few laps with John Venuto (44v) working the top side of the speedway.  However, as the race continued Knab would open up a lead over Venuto in second and go on to win his first feature of the season.
                The first special event of the season is coming up next Friday.  On May 28 the 360 Late Models (Super Stocks) will be on hand for a $1000 to win event.  The race is expected to draw some of the top BRP Can-Am 360 Late Model teams in the area and is sure to be a “can’t miss” event.  For more information, please visit the track website at  Updates and information are also available on SAS’s Facebook page, through, or by phone at (585)293-2780 on weekdays or (716)492-4097 on race day.

South Arcade Speedway- May 21, 2010 Results
Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (25 laps):
1. JUSTIN TATLOW #81, 2. Tim Schram #1s, 3. Bob Kish #5, 4. Ike Fanton #41, 5. Adam Sixt #6T, 6. Garrett Stephen #79, 7. Ron Baker #74, 8. Jason Bridge #15, 9. Tom Kemp #28, 10. John Lacki #7.

Insinger Performance E-mods (20 laps):
1. JOHN WOODWARD JR. #18, 2. Vic Vena #01, 3. Al Brewer #71, 4. Chad Silleman #47, 5. Carl Ballinger #53, 6. George Ritter Jr. #72, 7. Darren Tarabori #6, 8. Nathan Hill #38.  DNS: TJ Downs #03.

Street Stocks (20 laps):
1. JOHN ELLWOOD #27, 2. Ron Mogavero #75x, 3. Andy Michael #17x, 4. Leon Szweda #26, 5. Jeff Woodward #18, 6. Tim Bruce #75, 7. Art Peterson #5, 8. Matt Bove #91, 9. Bruno Mowery #49, 10. Josh Wilcox #1w, 11. Doug Jones #87, 12. David Downs #02, 13. Kyle Rupp #29, 14. Byron DeWitt #34, 15. Dan Giboo #8, 16. Matt Pfalzer #20, 17. Ron Budinger #12.  DNS: Brian Peterson Jr. #40.

Mini Stocks (15 laps):
1. BILL MCKINNEY #10, 2. Richard Kline #23s, 3. Dan Lockwood #08, 4. Dave Burdick #47, 5. Riley Ellison #24, 6. Sam Fuller #38.  DNS: Stacy Sturdevant #55, Bill Bailey #82.

Pure Stocks (15 laps):
1. BLANE KROTT #72, 2. Curt Pastorius #42, 3. Zach Hamer #7, 4. Fred Ely #00, 5. George Conkey #11x, 6. Dale Hamer #7D, 7. Tonia Ellwood #27.

Insinger Racing Alcohol DIRTcar Sprints (10 laps):
1. BRAD KNAB #38, 2. John Venuto #44v.  DNS: Jeremy Barnard #86.

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.