Bookmark and Share


South Arcade Speedway Kicks Off 2010 Season


South Arcade Speedway Kicks Off 2010 Season
Story By : Matt Steffenhagen
Delevan, NY- After months of work and preparation, the 2010 season at South Arcade Speedway under new owner Mike Lauterborn finally got under way Friday night.  Even after a week of extreme rainfall, the track was able to be whipped into shape in time for the opener.  The “Super Six” division card featuring FASTRAK Late Models, E-mods, Street Stocks, 4 cylinders, Pure Stocks, and Sprint Cars ran off in under three hours and went  pretty smoothly for an opening night racing program.

   In the headlining Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Model division, it was Justin Tatlow (81) taking the win in dominating fashion over 2009 track champion John Lacki (7).  Tatlow has moved through the ranks at South Arcade and other local tracks from Street Stocks to E-mods, and now to the FASTRAK Late Models and the win marks his first-ever Late Model victory.  Lacki, winner of eight feature events last season had to get past a hard charging Adam Sixt (6T) in order to finish second.  Sixt also is new to the division this season, coming over from the Street Stocks where he was a multi-time feature winner.  The 2010 season is sure to be a good one to watch in the Late Model division with newcomers and previous winners mixing it up.

   The Insinger Performance E-mod feature event was a rematch of sorts, as 2009 track champion John Woodward Jr.(18) would battle 2009 runner-up Rich Michael (17x).  Woodward would lead flag-to-flag, but it wasn’t without challenge as Rich Michael would try every line available to get by to no avail.  V6 e-mod pilot Darren Tarabori (6) would be credited with third as Al Brewer (71) would cut a tire in the closing laps to fade to sixth.

   The race of the night was in the Street Stock division with drivers Dan Giboo ( 8 ) and Andy Michael (17x) being edged out by Doug Jones (87) and Ron Mogavero (75x).  This was a bit of an upset considering that Giboo and Michael combined to take 12 victories in last season’s 18 races.  Giboo would go to the early lead in his crowd-favorite new style Camaro only to be passed on the third lap by former Genesee Speedway runner Ron Mogavero.  Doug Jones would slot into second by lap five before taking the lead on a restart.  Mogavero would get past Jones on lap 13, but slid high coming off turn 4 to fall back to second.  The two would race for the remaining distance with Jones just edging out the 75x at the line for the win.  Giboo and Michael would also have a photo-finish for 3rd with Giboo getting it.

   The 4 cylinder division saw Dave Burdick (47) try to hold off Dan Lockwood (08) for the 12 lap event.  Burdick however, would break with around five laps remaining leaving Lockwood to cruise to his first-ever win uncontested.  Stacy Sturdevant (55) was able to turn some laps and gain experience in her first time behind the wheel of a mini stock and was able to take second on account of Burdick’s troubles.

   The fifteen lap main event for the pure stocks saw Zach Hamer (7), Fred Ely (00),  Curt Pastorius (42), and Blane Krott (72) check out on the rest of the field, who were all rookies in the division.  Hamer would lead the entire distance, but was challenged many times by Ely, who nearly wrecked while going for the lead and passing a slower car at the same time.  The two bounced off each other a few times but both were able to continue.  Hamer would go on to score his first-ever win followed by Ely and Pastorius.

   Three Insinger Racing Alcohol DIRTcar Sprints were on hand for the opening night’s event.  Brad Knab (38) of Delevan would walk away with the heat win.  However, John Venuto (44v) would get his car hooked up much better for the main.  Venuto was able to take the lead from the start and never looked back, stretching it to nearly half the track over Knab in second.

   The action continues at South Arcade Speedway next Friday with another Super Six show sponsored by Bob McKerrow & Sons RV Sales.  The following week, on May 28 the first special event of the season will feature the 360 Late Models in a $1000 to win event.  For more information please visit the track website at, or reach the track by phone on weekdays at (585) 293-2780 or on race day at (716) 492-4097.

Jerge’s Auto Parts FASTRAK Late Models (25 Laps):
1. JUSTIN TATLOW #81, 2. John Lacki #7, 3. Adam Sixt #6T, 4. Bob Kish #5, 5. Ike Fanton #41, 6. Tim Schram #1s, 7. Dave Tackett #68, 8. Ron Baker #74, 9. Wade Mohawk #64, 10. Tom Kemp #28.
Heat Winners: John Lacki, Justin Tatlow.

Insinger Performance E-mods (20 Laps):
1. JOHN WOODWARD JR. #18, 2. Richard Michael #17x, 3. Darren Tarabori #6, 4. TJ Downs #03, 5. Carl Ballinger #53, 6. Al Brewer #71, 7. Nathan Hill #38, 8. Jaben Hill #33, 9. Chad Silleman #47, 10. Scott DeRock #22.  DNS: Ron Richter #31x
Heat Winners: John Woodward Jr., Nathan Hill.

Street Stocks (20 Laps):
1. DOUG JONES #87, 2. Ron Mogavero #75x, 3. Dan Giboo #8, 4. Andy Michael #17x, 5. Josh Wilcox #1w, 6. Bruno Mowery #49, 7. Matt Pfalzer #20, 8. Leon Szweda #26, 9. Tim Bruce #75, 10. John Ellwood #27, 11. Ron Budinger #12, 12. Brian Peterson Jr. #40, 13. David Downs #02, 14. Jeff Woodward #18, 15. Joe Carmichael #27x.
Heat Winners: Andy Michael, Dan Giboo.

4 Cylinders (12 Laps):
1. DAN LOCKWOOD #08, 2. Stacy Sturdevant #55, 3. Dave Burdick #47.
Heat Winner: Dan Lockwood.

Pure Stocks (15 Laps):
1. ZACH HAMER #7, 2. Fred Ely #00, 3. Curt Pastorius #42, 4. Blane Krott #72, 5. Dale Hamer #7D, 6. Tonia Ellwood #27, 7. Joe Perrin #30.
Heat Winner: Fred Ely.
Insinger Racing Alcohol DIRTcar Sprints (15 laps):
1. JOHN VENUTO #44v, 2. Brad Knab #38, 3. Tim Zack #9JR.
Heat Winner: Brad Knab.

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.