Bookmark and Share


Latham Goes Back to Back for 4th, K. Slader Wins 4th as Guinn, B. Johnson and M. Hines Win 1st


Rob Nugent, Track Announcer/Social Media/PR


POCOLA, OK (July 15th, 2017) – The tenth points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway was a night of first time winners as three of the five features were won by first-timers this season. The other two feature winners both notched their fourth win of the season. Mother Nature tried to throw a curve ball for the night’s activities with a brief rain shower that lasted less than ten minutes but dropped quite a bit of rain. With a lot of last minute work, the track was tacky and fast, but did have a few dips.

The pre-race ceremonies started at 8:08 PM with the invocation and the National Anthem.

Heat race lineups for all classes, except the IMCA Modifieds, were determined by the driver’s draw at sign in. The IMCA Modifieds followed the published rules for that class, which utilizes the driver’s point average for starting positions. The classes, that drew for their starting heat position, advanced to their features via their finish in their heats. Plus, the last heat winner in each class, other than IMCA Modifieds, drew a number for the number of cars to invert for the A Feature.

At intermission, everyone had a chance to grab themselves some of the great food items from the concession including the return of the awesome TSS funnel cakes and an ice-cold Coca-Cola 20 oz. drink to wash it all down with. 


The first race on the track after intermission was the USRA B-Mod A Feature where Kevin Guinn (788 – Fayetteville, AR) went to Victory Lane for the first time this season. Gerry Vaughn (77 – Greenwood, AR) took home second place as Lonny Flanagan (7 - Rudy, AR) repeated his third-place finish from the previous two weeks but remains the points leader with a 66-point margin.

Next was the Pure Stock A Feature that saw the same car win but with a different driver. Brad Johnson (51 – Stigler, OK) took home the win for his first of the season, after a DQ for the original race winner. Justin Johnson (55 – Fort Smith, AR) took home second place ahead of Adam Gipson (20 – Lavaca, AR), who finds himself in second place in the points battle just 14 points behind the class leader.

The next A Feature was for the IMCA Modifieds. Michael Hines (57M – Van Buren, AR) finished first, for his first win of the season, ahead of Jason Payton (6 – Greenwood, AR) and Kayden Menasco (49 – Muldrow, OK) who finds himself leading the class by only four points.

Next up was the non-point Super Stock A Feature where Kyle Slader (19S – Muskogee, OK) captured the checkered flag for the fourth time this season with another last lap, last turn pass on the outside. Roy Long (4 – Stilwell, OK) crossed the line in second ahead of Dylan Davlin (26D – Shady Point, OK).

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks last for their A Feature. Trevor Latham (27 – Rogers, AR) took home his fourth win of the season and remains the class point leader. Brent Holman (17 – Rogers, AR) settled for a second-place finish over Brian Williams (26 - Fayetteville, AR) in third.

All race results, including heats, are available on our website at The complete point standings for each class are also posted there.


Tri-State Speedway will return to action this week for the 19th Annual Super Stock Showdown presented by Shamrock Bolt & Screw Company on July 20, 21 and 22, 2017. Full details on this $5,000 to win event is posted on our website at

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 PM with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5 PM. Driver’s meeting is at 7 PM and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30 PM.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at  Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube which can be found by clicking the icons on the bottom of our website home page or by adding a “/” plus “Facebook”, “Twitter”, “Google+” or “YouTube” at the end so it looks like, etc.

We will see YOU soon!

This article posted by Tri-State Speedway. Click here for more track information.