Bookmark and Share


Vena and Pastorius Remain Undefeated as Fuller and Wilcox Win For the First Time at South Arcade Speedway



by Charlie Langlois
July 9, 2011 – Delevan, NY
Vic Vena in the Pangrazio Mac Tools E-Mods and Curt Pastorius in the Arcade Tractor Supply Pure Stocks remain undefeated in 2011 at the South Arcade Speedway as they each captured a victory on Saturday July 9. First time winners on Bob McKerrow & Sons RV Sales night were Josh Wilcox in the Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks and Scott Fuller in the D & H Mini Horse Pull Team Mini Stocks.
In the Pangrazio Mac Tools E-Mods feature, Al Brewer powered to the top spot at the drop of the green followed by Vic Vena, Carl Ballinger, Jeff Johnson and George Ritter.
A caution on lap 2 for a Ballinger spin in turn two set up a side by side restart with Brewer on the inside and Vena on the outside. On the restart, Brewer and Vena battled and Vena used the top of the racetrack to wrestle the lead from Brewer on lap 3.
Vena opened up a few car lengths on Brewer and Brewer’s fine run ended on lap 12 when he got a flat tire. On the restart, Vena held off Jeff Johnson to go three for three on the year.
“Brewer was a handful and ran real good,” Vena of Shinglehouse, PA. said afterwards. "I tried setting a track record on the last lap and I want to thank all of the fans for coming out.” Vena was not only fast on this night but he was also lucky as his right rear tire went flat during his victory lane interview. Johnson took second at the finish followed by Ballinger, Ritter and Brewer.
Joe Chamberlain led the start of the unbelievable Schwab Aggregates Street Stock feature with Josh Wilcox, Critter Hemphill, Zach Hamer and Barry Tingue in tow.  While the battle waged upfront, Dan Giboo and Andy Michael worked their way through the field.
Giboo entered the top five on lap 3 and one lap later made the move of the year as he threaded the needle to go from fourth to first on the backstretch. At the same time, Michael followed Giboo and slotted into second.
Michael hustled his way around Giboo one lap later only to have the caution negate the pass. On the restart, leader Giboo took the high side and on lap 6, Michael bolted into the lead.
Michael’s lead lasted only two laps as mechanical problems coasted him to a stop in turn. Giboo was caught behind Michael which allowed Jeff Hellwig to grab the top spot.
Giboo again asserted himself on the restart as he overtook Hellwig on lap 9. Giboo was now under assault by both Wilcox and Hellwig.
Bad luck befell leader Giboo on lap 14 as he coasted to the pits which produced the sixth lead change as Wilcox became the fifth different leader of the race.
Over the final six laps, Hellwig pressured Wilcox but the Franklinville runner was able to hold him off for his first win of the year. “He (Hellwig) showed his nose a couple of times; I sure knew he was there.” Wilcox stated. Hellwig crossed the line in second followed by Barry Tingue Jr, Hemphill and George Peterson. In post race technical inspection, Hellwig was disqualified from his second place finish which elevated Barry Tingue to fifth.
Scott Fuller in relief of Steve Mowery and Brad Ullman paced the field in the D & H Mini Horse Pull Team Mini Stock main with Dave Burdick, Kurt Babcock and Joe Boylan in positions three through five.
Fuller and Ullman battled the entire 15 laps in a race that was punctuated by flip down the backstretch by 2011 winner Nick Snayczuk on lap 9. Snayczuk was uninjured in the accident.
Fuller of Little Genesee, a former full time runner on the circuit, stated in victory lane, “See, I can still do it!” as he was able to capture the win by a half car length in his first visit to the track this year.  Ullman earned a well deserved second as Joe Boylan, Rick Bump and Chris Paar completed the top five.
In the Arcade Tractor Supply Pure Stocks, Curt Pastorius had the lead at the start followed by John Ellwood, Fred Ely, Bud Barone and Rod Winans.
Pastorius would put some distance on the field as the big battle was between Ellwood and Fred Ely for second. Fred Ely was able to get the better of Ellwood on lap 9 and began his pursuit of Pastorius.
Time was running out until a caution flew with three laps to go. Over the final laps, Fred Ely mustered a challenge but Pastorius of Rushford was able to hold on for his third win of the year. “I didn’t want to see that caution. I knew it was either going to be Fred (Ely) or John (Elwood) that was going to be there”. Pastorius said. Fred Ely, Ellwood, Rod Winans and Steve Ely rounded out the top five.
South Arcade Speedway is back in action on Saturday July 23 as Wix Filters presents the 100 Nights of Racing four-star program of Pangrazio-Mac ToolsE-Mods, Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks, D&H Mini Horse Pull Team4 CylinderMini Stocks and the first annual Arcade-Olean-Springville Tractor Supply Company Pure Stock Stampede extra distance race.  There will also be a Blackrock Speedway “Big One” $10,000 to win Enduro qualifier. The show starts at 6:00 pm.
South Arcade Feature Events
Pangrazio-Mac Tools E-Mods (15 laps) - VIC VENA, Jeff Johnson, Carl Ballinger, George Ritter, Al Brewer. Heat Winner- Vena.
Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks(20 laps)- JOSH WILCOX, Barry Tingue Jr, Critter Hemphill, Gene Patterson, Barry Tingue, Bruno Mowery, Daniel Giboo, Joe Chamberlin, Andy Michael, Zach Hamer, Jeff Hellwig (DQ).  Heat Winners- Michael, Giboo.
D&H Mini Horse Pull Team 4 Cylinder Mini Stocks(15 laps)- SCOTT FULLER, Brad Ullman, Joe Boylan, Rick Bump, Chris Paar, Dave Burdick, Riley Ellison, Duane Powers, Davey Lowe, Michael Oakes, Kyle Babcock, Nick Snayczuk, Richard Kline. Heat Winners- Fuller, Ullman.
Arcade Tractor Supply Company Pure Stocks(15 laps)- CURT PASTORIUS, Fred Ely, John Ellwood, Rod Winans, Steve Ely, Dale Hamer, Bud Barone, Dustin Goss, Dana Speta.  Heat Winners- Pastorius, Steve Ely.

This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.