Bookmark and Share


South Arcade Speedway Beats the Weather as Vena, Michael, Pastorius and Snayczuk Capture Feature Events


by Charlie Langlois
June 25, 2011 – Delevan, NY- Neither fog nor rain nor gloom of night shall stay these swift drivers from their appointed laps was the motto Saturday June 25, as South Arcade Speedway waited out the inclement weather on Sixt Lumber night to get a full card of racing in.
Although the show started late due to the rain, the fans in attendance were rewarded with a great night of competition as Vic Vena in the Pangrazio Mac Tools E-Mods. Andy Michael in the Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks and Curt Pastorius in the Arcade Tractor Supply Pure Stocks captured their second wins of the year while Nick Snayczuk in the D & H Mini Horse Pull Team Mini Stocks took down his first victory of the season.
In the Pangrazio Mac Tools E-Mods feature, Vic Vena jumped to the lead from his pole position start followed by Darren Tarabori and Rich Michael. With Vena on the point, the battle was on for the runner-up slot between Tarabori and Michael with Michael trying every trick in the book to wrestle second from the high flying Tarabori.
Just past halfway, Michael was able to overtake Tarabori and then set sail after Vena. At the same time, Kyle Inman continued to pressure Josh Pangrazio for fourth.  As the laps wound down, Michael was unable to get to the back bumper of Vena as the Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania chauffer went on the grab his second win of the season. “When you beat Rich Michael, you beat one of the best”, stated Vena in victory lane. Michael settled for second followed by Tarabori, Pangrazio and Inman.
Andy Michael moved out from his front row starting position to grab the top spot in the Schwab Aggregates Street Stock feature with Joe Chamberlain, John Miller substituting for Bruno Mowery, Dan Giboo and Scott DeRock in positions two through five. Chamberlain hounded Michael for a number of laps while Josh Wilcox began his charge to the front. 
Wilcox moved into the top five on lap 2 and within two more laps had grabbed third from Miller. Chamberlain made a bold move in turn 1 on lap five to take the top spot from Michael but looped it to bring out the caution. This moved Wilcox into second and the restart found Michael and Wilcox on the front row.
As racing resumed, Wilcox used the outside of the racetrack to pressure leader Michael as Giboo, DeRock and Miller waged a three way war for third.  Michael was not about to give up the lead and the Allegheny resident was able to take it to the checkered flag for win number two on the year. “We’ve had some problems at other tracks but my car is running real good here” Michael said afterwards. Wilcox settled for a well deserved second as Giboo, DeRock and a rebounding Chamberlain completed the top five.
Nick Snayczuk and Dan Lockwood brought the D & H Mini Horse Pull Team Mini Stocks to green and Snayczuk edged Lockwood to lead lap 1. Riley Ellison, Brad Ullman and opening night winner Steve Mowery completed the top five.
While the intense two and three wide duel up front behind leader Snayczuk was fought between Lockwood, Ellison, Ullman and Mowery, all eyes were on Randy Lananger who rocketed through the pack from his last starting position.
Lananger picked off a car a lap while Ullman took second and Mowery took third on lap 6.  Snayczuk started to open up some distance on the field as three wide racing continued throughout the event. Lananger closed in on the front group as he moved into fourth on lap 8.
It looked like it would be clear sailing for Snayczuk but a late race caution bunched the field. On the restart, Ullman chased Snayczuk but the West Valley runner was not to be denied and he took the victory in his first visit to the speedway since 2009. “I had a good starting spot and although I haven’t been here in awhile, I remembered how to drive this track”, he said.
Snayczuk’s win guaranteed him a starting position in the August 6 South Arcade Speedway “King of the Mini Stocks” special event. Ullman, Mowery, Lananger and Ellison finished in positions two through five. The next race that will award a guaranteed spot in the “King of the Mini Stocks” will take place at Allegheny Mountain Raceway on Sunday July 3.
Rod Winans blasted out to set the pace at the beginning of the Arcade Tractor Supply Pure Stocks but was overhauled for the number one position by Curt Pastorius before one lap was complete. Steve Ely and Jason Evans raced side by side for third.
Pastorius set a blistering pace while Fred Ely powered through the field from his back row starting spot. Lap after lap, Steve Ely and Evans battled for second with Fred Ely able to get around both as the crossed flags signaled halfway.
Fred Ely was relentless in his pursuit of leader Pastorius and as in the Mini Stock feature, a late race caution bunched up the field.  On the restart, Fred Ely gave it his all but Rushford’s Pastorius was not to be denied and he took down his second win of the 2011 campaign.  Fred Ely, Evans, Dale Hamer and Rod Winans garnered top five finishes.  
South Arcade Speedway is back in action on Saturday July 9 as Bob McKerrow and Sons RV Sales presents a four-star program of Pangrazio-Mac Tools E-Mods, Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks, Arcade Tractor Supply Company Pure Stocks and the D&H Mini Horse Pull Team 4 Cylinder Mini Stocks.  There will be one on one spectator races and all Town of Freedom residents with proper ID will be admitted free for the show that starts at 6:00 pm.
South Arcade Feature Events
Pangrazio-Mac Tools E-Mods (15 laps) - VIC VENA, Rich Michael, Darren Tarabori, Josh Pangrazio, Kyle Inman, Carl Ballinger. Heat Winner-Vena.
Schwab Aggregates Street Stocks (20 laps)- ANDY MICHAEL, Josh Wilcox, Daniel Giboo, Scott DeRock, Joe Chamberlain, Levi Watson, John Miller, Zach Hamer, Randy Taylor, Barry Tingue Jr. Winners- Michael, Taylor.
D&H Mini Horse Pull Team 4 Cylinder Mini Stocks (15 laps)- NICK SNAYCZUK, Brad Ullman, Steve Mowery, Randy Lananger, Riley Ellison, Taylor Jacobs, Richard Kline, Rick Bump, Dan Lockwood, Davey Lowe, Bill Bailey, George Quintana, Dave Burdick, Kyle Babcock. Heat Winners- Snayczuk, Ullman.
Arcade Tractor Supply Company Pure Stocks (15 laps)- CURT PASTORIUS, Fred Ely, Jason Evans, Dale Hamer, Rod Winans, Steve Ely, Dana Speta, Butch Jackson, Dustin Goss. Heat Winners- Pastorius, Winans.


This article posted by South Arcade Speedway. Click here for more track information.