Bookmark and Share


Four racers take first wins at 85 Speedway


by Dave A. Vance

Perfect weather last Saturday night proved to be what most of the drivers needed to win their first A-Main races of this season at 85 Speedway.

Tanner Flanagan highlighted the evening by winning the Bomber and visiting Southern Outlaw Street Stock divisions. Both wins were Flanagan’s first at 85 Speedway this year.

Flanagan started 11th in the A-Main and moved into seventh place by lap five. Six cars left the track by lap seven, moving Flanagan in the lead. Flanagan led the remaining nine laps with Rodger Chaney on his tail. Flanagan finished first, Chaney second, and Drew Garcia third.

Tim Brewer remains season point leader with seven points over Garcia.

Flanagan started sixth in the Southern Outlaw Street Stock division and quickly moved into third place until moving into second by lap nine. Charles Armstrong III led 14 laps until Flanagan made his move on the last lap to take the checkered flag. Flanagan finished first, Armstrong III finished second, and Craig Pruett finished third.

Windle Gaston also won his first A-Main this year in the IMCA Modified division after finishing second the previous week. He started 11th out of 18 cars and moved into second place by lap eight after twelve cars dropped out in six of the previous laps. Matt Deaver finished first, but was disqualified by tech for losing a muffler during the race. Gaston was declared the winner, Bryan Petrich second, and Mike Hathcock third.

Hathcock holds a five point lead over Gaston for the season.

Ron Nelson celebrated his first A-Main win this year in the IMCA Southern Sportmod division. He started in second beside Bo Bowman, but took over the lead by lap five. Nelson led the remaining laps until the race reached the 20 minute time limit and was called on the 10th lap. Nelson was declared the winner, Archie Whitt second and Eddie Prator third.

Rickey Haney remains in first place with a two point lead over Jordan Boyd, who took over second from Keith Nolen. Nolen dropped to fourth and Prator moved into third.

Dylan Forbes was the fourth driver to win his first A-Main this season. Forbes took the lead on the first lap in the Cruiser division and never looked back. He has had one second place and one third place finish. Johnny Ashton finished second and Dylan Fagan finished third.

Ashton continues to hold the season lead with 14 points over Fagan.

Will Garrison won his second A-Main in a row in the Street Stock division. He started in eighth place and was in second by lap six behind Jackie Hefti. Hefti pulled off the track on the last lap, handing Garrison the win. Chuck Flanery finished second and Wes Milliorn third.

Garrison took over season point lead from Hefti by one point.

Mathew Lunsford won his second A-Main in the Jr. Mini Stock division. Mathew ran in second behind Cade Fabian for three laps when Thomas Lunsford took over second on lap four. Thomas hit the front wall after lap five, flipping five times. Fabian was restarted in the back, giving Mathew the lead. Twister driver John Henry Smith was included in the race as the only Twister division driver present. He took the lead on lap 11 just before the race was called for reaching the 20 minute time limit.

Smith was declared the winner of the Twister division and Mathew was announced as the winner of the Jr. Mini Stocks. Troy Garrison finished second and Parker Garrison finished third.

Mathew took over the Jr. Mini Stock season point lead by seven points over Thomas. Smith leads the Twister division 79 points over Austin Woodcock.

In addition to all regular race divisions, 85 Speedway will be featuring the Texas Winged Modifieds this Saturday. Gates open at 6 p.m. and racing begins at 8 p.m. Call 972-875-8500 or visit for more information.

This article posted by Big O Speedway (FKA 85 Speedway). Click here for more track information.