Are YOU a racer?  CLICK HERE to add YOUR name to our Racer Directory

 

Use this Button to SHARE this Racer's profile:   Bookmark and Share

 

UserName: MattChildress

Real Name: Matt Childress

Hometown: Jackson, TN

Tracks Where I Race: State Line Speedway, North Georgia, Phoenix Raceway, Atoka Raceway Park, Charlotte Motorspeedway, 103rd St, Carolina Speedway, Memphis Raceway Park, Corinth Speedway

Non-Racing Hobbies: Running and working out

 

Classes I've Raced: Champ Karts, Dirt Late Models, Asphalt Late Models

Classes I Currently Race: Asphalt Late Models, Endurance Karts

My Personal Website: http://www.mattchildressracing.com

Racer's Forum: CLICK HERE for this racer’s forum board

Email Me: Send a Private Message to this User

 

A young man with a dream and the desire to follow it against all odds

 

Born 01/04/1990

 

 

Elementary school

 

St Mary’s Catholic school

Jackson TN

Middle School

Jackson Middle

Jackson TN

 

High School

 

Liberty Technology School class of 2008

Jackson TN

 

Working Career

 

Age 16 started a detailing business which provided me money to race my karts

Age 17 worked part time at the local bowling center and worked part time at Fazolli’s Italian Fast Food

Age 18 began work at Coffman’s furniture in their service department handling customer service and scheduling and dispatching technicians. This is my current employer

 

Racing Career

 

Age 15 started racing Champ Karts and did this for three seasons. The first season I had no idea what I was doing and still had moderate success. The 2nd season I won some races and finished third in the points. My 3rd season started off great but my dad was diagnosed with cancer and had to miss several races. With his encouragement I pulled my trailer with my F350 sixty two miles each way to the track. I did not win races but still had great finishes. That year, when my dad got back, I did well and he got crew chief of the year.

When I decided to move up to stock cars I bought a fixer up late model dirt car. I completely built it from the chassis up. I raced well but when I wrecked it I did not have the money to repair it so I had to sell it.

I then decided to try my luck with MotoCross but that only lasted one race. I came off a jump and went a different direction than my bike and ended up in the hospital.

With my dad’s constant encouragement and direction I decided to invest in schools and seat time. I went toMemphis Motorsports Park to their driving advantage. It has since gone out of business. I then went to HickoryNC to Lafferty racing school and drove a Camping World truck.

My next expedition was to Carolina Speedway to Sean Parker’s Drive on Dirt racing school. I practiced with Chris Buescher who now races in ARCA.

I went to Charlotte on two different occasions to drive Endurance Kart races and won them both. I also raced this series in Jacksonville FL and got 2nd in the rain.

I went to Phoenix to the Bondurant racing school and drove the formula Mazda.

Recently I came to Northern Idaho to drive with Competitive Edge racing. I chose Competitive Edge after much research. I knew I needed to find a company or person that not only had an interest in growing their business but also in developing me as a driver and person. I have been through several programs and none compared to what I found at Competitive Edge. The people had a deep desire and interest to help me, not only as a driver but also a person. The equipment they had for training and racing was the best I have ever been in. Of all the places I have been for race development, Competitive Edge is the only one I would ever recommend.

 

My greatest accomplishment was that I took out three loans to make my dream come true against all odds. I did not take the college route and did not give myself a backup plan. Racing is all I want to do and I will succeed.

 

 

Personal hobbies and goals

 

I have always taken my physical health serious which is why I compete in 5K, 10K, and half marathons as well as bike and workout. I have several wins from running and hope to run a full marathon soon.

Another dream of mine is to someday build a cancer research hospital. My paternal grandmother died of lung cancer in 2004 at the age of 60 and my maternal grandfather died in 2006 of stomach cancer. After my dad was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer in 2007 I knew that somehow I wanted to create a medical facility modeled after the place he went for treatment. I plan to make this dream come true through my racing.

Backup Ride(s)

None entered yet.

View Schedule For:

No race results entered yet.

None listed at this time.

No Race Reviews Entered Yet.