Bookmark and Share


Figure-8 Memorial Day Special May 28 at Marion Center Speedway



Marion Center Speedway’s 50th Anniversary Season was back on track Saturday night – that is the quarter-mile clay oval track between Punxsutawney and Indiana – with the Memorial Day Special which included a ‘retro-style’ figure 8 race and the return of the Pro-Stocks (formerly the Street Stocks).  Trophies were presented to the feature winners compliments of the night’s sponsor- Huey Brothers, Inc. and the winner of the figure 8 race was presented a trophy sponsored by Crooked Creek Engraving.  Here are the results of the night’s racing:
Joe Martin of Punxsutawney took the Lias Tire Super Late Model feature Saturday night to get his first Super Late Model victory, by passing the driver that led from his pole position start through the sixteenth lap of the 25 lap feature, and that was Mike Blose.  Blose from New Bethlehem was on rails to the Integra Racing Shocks Winner’s Circle until things went awry and the pursuing Martin took over the lead.  Blose wasn’t able to neither get the lead back nor maintain second place as Tommy Beck from Murrysville also made it past Blose putting him in third.  Here is the look at the finish line:  1) Joe Martin, 2) Tommy Beck, 3) Mike Blose, 4) Alex Ferree, 5) Billy Eash, 6) Ken Schaltenbrand, 7) Levi Sikora, 8) Joe Petyak, 9) Charles Powell, Jr., 10) Devin Lewis, 11) Tom Shaffer, 12) John Wayne Weaver, 13) Bill Burns, Jayme Beck (Burns and J. Beck did not start feature).  Mike Blose and Joe Martin won the Lias Tire Super Late Model heat races.
The Pisano’s Personal Care Home Steel Block Limited Late Models’ feature was won by Jeff Sweeney from Marion Center.  Sweeney started in the pole position and led all twenty laps to the Integra Racing Shocks Winner’s Circle.  Scott Stein from Cherry Tree kept on the tail of Sweeney throughout the feature but never passed Sweeney to take second place.  When the checkers flew it was 1) Jeff Sweeney, 2) Scott Stein, 3) Dan Boyd, 4) Wendell Pinckney, 5) Rod Phillips, 6) Sam Gindlesperger, 7) Gale Huey, 8) Cheyenne Reed, 9) Rich Logan, 10) Andy Burns.  For the rest of the field you can check our website at  Cheyenne Reed and Sam Gindlesperger won the Pisano’s Personal Care Home Steel Block Limited Late Model heat races.
The W. G. Satterlee & Sons E-Mods took the track and it was a battle of the brothers for the checkered flags.  Evan Taylor and brother Jonathan Taylor of Saltsburg started the feature one and two side by side and raced the fifteen laps that way.  Jonathan was able to hold off his brother for the victory trip to the Integra Racing Shocks Winner’s Circle.  The w. G. Satterlee & Sons E-Mode finish was 1) Evan Taylor, 2) Jonathan Taylor, 3) Mark Bell, 4) Alan Atkinson.  Evan Taylor also won the heat race.
The Willow Farm Campground Strictly Stock feature went to Chris Hickok from Commodore.  Hickok drove the twenty-four car from green flag start to checkered flag finish leading the pack of Strictly Stocks around the track.  Jim Hamilton was on his tail at first but then the Fulmer were after Hickok.  Gary Fulmer attacked first but then Nick Fulmer laid the pressure on Hickok pretty thick as laps counted down.  At the Checkers it was 1) Chris Hickok, 2) Nick Fulmer, 3) Gary Fulmer, 4) Nick Erskine, 5) Jim Hamilton, 6) Rich Waltman, Jr., 7) Ryan Caldwell, 8) Gary Stitt, 9) Fred Casagne, 10) Dillon Smith.  In the heat races the winners were Nick Fulmer and Rich Waltman, Jr.
The Pro-Stocks were in action for the first time this season at Marion Center Speedway.  The division formerly called the Street Stocks came back for the Memorial Day Special and put on a good show for the crowd, logging in a twenty –lap feature that was won by Rich Waltman from Coolspring.  Waltman started on the pole and led every lap to the Integra Racing Shocks Winner’s Circle.  The rest of the field finished as follows:  10 Rich Waltman, 2) Joe Kelly, 3) Collin Burke, 4) Tony Iarrapino, 5) Alan English, 6) Sadie Siegel, 7) Mike Mellot, 8) Trevor McCann, 9) Brian Mills, 10) Lonnie Mills.  Joe Kelly won the Pro-Stock heat race.
In addition to the regular racing program the Memorial Day Special included a figure 8 race.  The cars crossed over the racing lanes in the center of the infield.  A few got tagged as they tried to beat the other car through the intersection but the race continued through the fifteen laps.  The winner of the “Blast from the Past” Figure 8 Race was Bobby Siegel from Pittsburgh.  Wild Bill Hassenplug took second place as the only cars able to finish the race.  The field was scored as 1) Bobby Siegel, 2) Wild Bill Hassenplug, 3) Tyler Clark, 4) Brady Gallaher, 5) Charlie Brewer, 6) Robert Lydic, 7) Adam Gee.
Drivers please note there’s been a change to your “Check in Procedure”- No one will be permitted to draw for position without the car being there at the pit gate when the draw is made.  No walk-ups to get your “pill”- when the car is at the gate you can then get your starting position.
There’s a whole lot happening this season at Marion Center Speedway with events scheduled every Saturday night with lots of specials in the mix like the Memorial Day Special we just ran, King of the Hill Races, Twin Features and the “Thrill on the Hill Music Festival” over Labor Day Weekend. And don’t forget about the Marion Center Speedway Kid’s Club.  Stay tuned to the internet to keep up to date because there’s a whole lot more information and news relating to the season on the website: which is the ONLY Official Website of Marion Center Speedway.  All others are Not Associated with MCS and may not contain official information; or you can follow us on facebook, or catch up on twitter or the blog with what’s happening. You can also make sure you don’t make that unnecessary drive up to the top of the hill if we’re rained out by signing up for text messages or e-mails from “” and receive up to the minute messages if the track should cancel for the night –and it’s free!.  Plus there’s the NEWEST Race Day Hotline phone number 724-397-2173 to call on days of events only for a recorded message of the status of the events for the day.
This is the 50th Anniversary Season at Marion Center Speedway being under the care and ownership of the Potts Family, and this year looks spectacular with all the events and specials that are planned.  We really thank all our sponsors over the years and especially those on board this year like Lias Tire and Cooper Tires, W. G. Satterlee & Sons, Huey Brothers, Inc., Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, Willow Farm Campground, American Racer/ Lias Tire, B D Laraway and Associates, Pisano’s Personal Care Home, Force Inc., East American Motorsports, Texas Auto Ranch, W G M Gas Company, Inc., Integra Racing Shocks, Sy’s Pizza and Sub Shop.  Also thanks to Rich’s Garage at 724-388-6462 for all their help to keep things going for the season, Colonial Motor Mart, Rossiter Volunteer Fire Company and of course, Butler Auto Supplies once again sponsoring our Season Championships. 

Marion Center Speedway is looking forward to the rest of the 2016 Racing Season, the 50th Anniversary Racing Season at MCS under the continued direction the the Potts Family.  Hope to see you at "The Thrill On The Hill" Marion Center Speedway, “The Little Track With The BIG Attitude.”

This article posted by Marion Center Speedway. Click here for more track information.